HOMEPAGE FORUMS NEWS DOCUMENTATION SCREENSHOTS
SystemRescueCd forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 30 Sep 2014, 23:55

eeepc hangs with acpi message 

Post eeepc hangs with acpi message
Hi, I'm going slowly insane... but I'll cut to the chase. Sorry if this is the wrong forum as I'm not sure if it's actually a hardware issue; I'm not really an expert.

Setup: Asus eeepc 701 4gb surf
Runs: Original Xandros on SSD, and eeebuntu installed on usb.

I was using it one night OK.
Next day, booted Xandros on SSD, saw the splash screen and then it went black.

Steps I've Tried to Fix it So Far...

1 -- Pressed CMOS reset with a toothpick, and it did the same.
2 -- Did an F9 restore, booted to the message: 'Uncompressing Linux, OK, booting the kernal...' then just a cursor.
3 -- Tried eeebuntu on usb (previously OK) booted to message 'starting up'
4 -- Tried eeebuntu on usb, recovery mode. Booted to 0.336623] ACPI: Checking for initramfs for custom DSDT.
5 -- Started up, pressed F2, got BIOS ok, returned to defaults. No effect.
6 -- Made a new live eeebuntu usb in windows cybercafe, boots to a unetbootin screen, followed by a cursor but no further.
7 -- Opened up the RAM cover, reseated the ram and touched the metal CMOS plates with metal while grounded. No effect.
8 -- Made a live puppy linux on usb, which booted as far as the message: No default or UI configuration directives found.
9 -- Made a live Damn Small Linux usb. Booted as far as 'uncompressing linux, booting the kernal' message again.

Next, I made System Rescue CD with universal installer to usb, and did the following

1 -- Option one booted as far as the message: 0041200] ACPI: core revision 20090903

Various boot attempts with system rescue usb:

Booting option 2 with all files cached to memory booted as far as the message: 0.041230] ACPI core revision 20090903
Booting straight into graphical environment got as far as: 0.037229 ACPI core revision 20090903